Lifestyle · Natural Hair

Baby Hair and Afros

Hello loves,

In case you did not know, we ladies here are part of the #TeamNatural movement. Loving one’s own kinky/curly/nappy hair type is just the most liberating feeling. I mean, African American women have come a long way toward accepting and loving their own natural hair. Media has brainwashed today’s generations into believing that the European look (straight long hair) is considered more beautiful and accepting in society. Not only have they bashed our hair textures, they have come for our big lips and other physical assets that does not fit their bias opinions of beauty.

Well, guess what? We don’t agree, and like thousands of other queens out there we have decided to take matters into our own hands and give up the creamy hair treatment ( bye bye relaxer) and remain unapologetically BLACK.
Who needs the world’s approval anyway?

So…we have been natural for almost 3 years now, and no it was not easy. Natural hair is complex. It’s nappy, it’s kinky and it shrinks. We pretty much started over, transitioning and then did the #bigchop AKA the Big C. Throughout this natural hair journey, we have always kept in mind that our hair is not who we are. Our natural hair does not define what kind of friend we are going to be nor does it dictate what kind of workplace professional we are but it is solely an enhancement of our natural beauty. It is healthier, versatile and it is ours.

We call it natural hair journey because it is indeed an emotional exploration and requires lots and lots of patience. Be ready for several natural hair terms.

Rina-

I first started my journey with Transitioning. One day ( January 29, 2013 to be exact) I just decided that I was done with putting chemicals in my hair. I made that decision because I wanted thick and healthy hair and at the time my hair was thin and brittle. At first it was supposed to be a trial for only six months but it soon became a permanent decision.


Transitioning was probably the hardest part of my journey because without the chemical in my hair, my new growth was natural while the rest of my hair still relaxed, and the two textures did not go well together. Believe me, it was a tangled mess. Luckily, there are what you call Protective Styles. I did braids, sew-ins, and my favorite go to protective style became crochet braids. It was easy to do and maintain. Plus it did not take a lot of time, and it looked natural. I loved it.


  
Fast forward 7 months later in September, I finally decided that it was time for the Big C 😱

Yes, I chopped it all off. πŸ’‡πŸΏπŸ’‡πŸΏ

And no I’m not crying, although it was very emotional πŸ˜­πŸ˜…




I pretty much continued on with my protective styles, occasionally letting my hair breathe and of course started experimenting on different methods and natural based conditioners to finally find which ones were meant for me. If I were to grade my hair on the natural hair chart, I would probably be a mixture of  4a- 4c type.

2 and half year later and this is what has become of my natural locks



  

Moe- Becoming part of the nappy hair movement was an easy decision I made. While I was in college, I didn’t allow anyone to perm my hair besides my mother, and before i knew it I was on the path to kinky curly. As time went on without applying the creamy crack to my hair, I didn’t realize I was slowly transitioning to natural.

After I made my decision to fully convert, my friends (the Nigerian ones) were like, “girl are you sure? Because I don’t think your man would want to see that tough hair struggle!” They went on and on about how if their men saw them with that Stage 1 natural hair, he would probably not find them attractive without the weave. (This was a battle conversation).

For a while I struggled to figure out how to tame all the new hair growth, but as time progressed I began to fully embrace this new journey, thanks to YouTube videos and blogs dedicated to natural hair. I was constantly in the mirror with a pair of scissors, snip snip here, snip snip there just having fun removing those stringy permed ends; it was liberating.
   
 
As I embraced my new look and accepted this evolving me, I started to care less about what “permed-haired” people thought, they could keep their stringy opinions to themselves.

I’m stubborn, so I actually rocked my natural hair on Valentine’s Day while in my mind I was thinking “yeah, he better not say something crazy, or he’s getting kicked to the curb.” (LOL) However, my boyfriend David saw me for the first time without my Brazilian wavy weave and he smiled and said that I looked beautiful and he was loving the new look. 

The point is, when you embrace and accept who you are, no one can knock you down.
 

So there you have it peeps, a small glimpse into our growth in accepting our God-given element and seeing beauty through our own eyes.  
Nappy but happy,

-Moe & Rina

Leave a Reply

